My favourite meal! (魚蛋河粉)

My favourite meal! (魚蛋河粉)

Also the most expensive one I had in HK.

When I was younger, my favourite meal was french toast with a red bean ice. Technically, that was afternoon tea. But I still order that for lunch whenever I could.

But when I think of comfort food, fishballs and noodles in broth (with loads of chili sauce) is what comes to mind. The time I spent in HK was not wasted, I tried multiple places, with many different family recipes, and I still haven’t found one that I will call number one. Because I can’t. They all are wonderful in their own ways.

This was my first fishball and noodles meal in HK, and my aunt Pianca treated me. This was at a place in Wan Chai, I regret not taking a business card nor taking a photo that included the name that was on the menu. I tried looking places up on OpenRice but no go. C’est la vie. This was also the most expensive bowl of fishball noodles that I ingested during my travels. (I think it was around $35HKD.) Of course it’s probably because of the location of the shop and they handmade, real fish fishball and fish cake.

It was yummy, & the company was great. Catching up with my aunt was rewarding: got the inside scoop on some family gossip etc. I love gossip, what can I say? I hear it but I don’t spread it!

Leave a Reply

